Lyris User's Guide
[previous] [next] [contents]
Hold Users
Table of Contents
Lyris Email Commands
Web Interface for Users
Server Administrator
Site Administrator
Overview of Site Administrator
Site Admin Menu
Site Info
Mailing Lists
Mailing Lists First Page
Basic Information
World-Wide-Web Urls
Headers and Footers
Security for Subscribers
Security of List Information
Posting Privileges and Moderation
Email Headers
Error Mail Handling
Hold Users
Held Notify Interval
Held Notify Days
Held Document
Purge Held
Purge Unconfirmed
Purge Unapproved
Purge Expired
Bounce Reset
Bounce Days
Programming Extensions at the List Level
Miscellaneous List Config Settings
Limits (changeable only by site admin)
Site Documents
Site Action Phrases
Site People
Site Admin Log
List Administrator
Other Topics
Add-On Packages
Installing and Upgrading
Frequently Asked Questions

Hold Users

This option determines whether members who bounce a great deal of mail have their membership automatically "held" by Lyris.

When people's email addresses go bad (for instance, they change to another Internet Service Provider) each email message sent to their old address bounces back to Lyris. By default, Lyris will analyze the bounces, and determine who is causing them. If a member's email address appears to be invalid for several days in a row, Lyris automatically disables that member's Lyris membership, so that Lyris no longer sends them mail.

In most situations, automatic holding of users is a desired feature. In some situations, such as with internal mailing lists, where email address problems can be temporary (or must be repaired by a email system administrator) you can disable this feature. Lyris will then never put a membership on "hold".

When a user is placed on hold, Lyris sends the user an email message indicating that this has occurred, as well as a copy of the most recent error message Lyris received from this user. This notification message, if the user receives it, can be very helpful to the user in determining why their email was being rejected by their mail system.

Other pages which link to this page:
  • Auto-Hold Users
  • Error Mail Handling
  • New in 3.0 beta 5 (v2.548)
  • New in Version 2.0
  • New in Version 1.2
  • Page 280 of 556