Lyris User's Guide
[previous] [next] [contents]
Join Mailing List
Table of Contents
Introduction
Lyris Email Commands
Web Interface for Users
Overview of Web Interface for Users
Main Menu
Topic Screen
Enter Mailing List
Join Mailing List
How to go directly the "Join Mailing List" page
Send the user back to a web page after Joining
Menu of Member Choices
Read and Search Messages
Read a specific message
Create a New Message
Edit Membership settings
Leave
About This List
Server Administrator
Site Administrator
List Administrator
Other Topics
Add-On Packages
Installing and Upgrading
Appendix
Frequently Asked Questions

Join Mailing List

If a user clicks the Join button, they will be presented with a page asking for information from them.

If the mailing list is set up as Open membership (no approval required), the user will be able to proceed directly to the Menu of Member Choices after completing this page.

If the mailing list is set to Password membership, there will be a space for the user to enter the membership password. If the user does not know the membership password, they will not be allowed to join. If they do know the membership password, they will be able to proceed directly to the Menu of Member Choices after completing this page.

If the mailing list is set to Private membership, the user will be able to fill in the Join page, but will not be able to proceed until their membership is approved by a list administrator.

If the mailing list is set to Closed membership, the user will not be able to even go to the Join page, as it will not have been an available choice from the Enter Mailing List page. A Closed mailing list means that the mailing list administrator has chosen to add members themselves, and does not allow people to ask to join.

Note: all user information can be changed later on, by choosing the Your Settings button from the Menu of Member Choices.

To join a mailing list using email, use the subscribe command. To change your member settings by email once you have joined, use the set command. To determine your membership settings using email, use the query command.

The Join Mailing List page has the following elements:

Full Name
(required) The user must enter their full name here.

Email Address
(required) The user must enter their email address here.

Password
(optional) If the user desires to have a password, to protect themselves from people claiming to be them, they may enter one here. The password will be required in the future in order for the user to continue past the Enter Mailing List page.

Re-type Password
(optional) In order to confirm that the password was correctly entered, the user must re-enter their password here. If the contents of (3) and (4) are not exactly the same, the system will let the user know this fact, and ask them to re-enter their password.

Member type
(required) This choice defines how the user wants to receive messages from the mailing list. The choices are:

* receive mail as it is contributed - as soon as someone contributes a message to the mailing list, the user will receive a copy of that message. This option is commonly known by other programs as "mail".

* periodic digest - each night, around 1 in the morning, the user will receive a single email message containing all the messages contributed to the mailing list that day. At the top of the message will be a numbered list of the subjects in that digest, followed by the complete messages themselves. This option is commonly known by other programs as "digest".

* periodic index of subject - each night, around 1 in the morning, the user will receive a single email message containing all the subject lines of all the messages contributed to the mailing list that day. If any of the messages interest the user, the bottom of the index gives the email command that will retrieve the bodies of the messages.

* receive no mail - no email is sent to the user. The user is free to go the Lyris Web Interface whenever they want, and read the full text of the messages there. This setting is also useful for people who want the ability to contribute to a mailing list, but do not care to see the contributions to the mailing list. This option is commonly known by other programs as "nomail".

Acknowledgment
(required) When a user contributes a message to the mailing list, they have the option of being notified that the message was in fact delivered and sent out. If a user is sending out an important announcement, they might want to be notified that it really went out.

See Your Messages
(required) Determines whether you will receive a copy of your own messages when you contribute them to the mailing list. By default, this is set to yes, so that when you post a message to this mailing list, you will receive a copy of the posting, just as others on the list do.

Save button
Once the user is finished entering the above information, they must click the Save button. As stated at the beginning of this section, if the list is Open or Password protected, they will be allowed to go directly to the Menu of Member Choices. If the list is Private, they will have to wait for the list administrator to approve their membership.

More:

Other pages which link to this page:
  • Web Interface for Users
  • Enter Mailing List
  • Edit Membership settings
  • Kind
  • Page 80 of 556